Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Simple Sew floating bodice dress #011

on November 9, 2015

I had a busy weekend sewing the floating bodice dress ready for today as I have been interviewing and needed a smart outfit.

image

I

image

I had already bought some spotty navy blue fabric, dark lining and a zip from fabricland a few months ago but not got round to making it. This pattern came free a while ago with love sewing magazine.

The pattern instructions are very basic,  it states you need interfacing but doesn’t mention anywhere what to do with it.
I used it to add stability to the neck line.  I lined my dress to get a better fit but the instructions were for unlined so that took a bit more thinking to reach areas such as the shoulders seams on the floating section.

image

image

The back split was quite high when I finished it so stitched this a bit longer.  I need to adjust the front and back darts to achieve a better fit but as the lining is hemmed in I probably won’t bother on this one but would if I make it again.
It is possibly as I had to adjust the pattern from a size 10 on top to a size 13 lower half ( I drew a line between a 12 and 14 as this war my closest measurement).
Overall I am happy with this for the price of 2 metres of fabric and seven hours sewing.

2 responses to “Simple Sew floating bodice dress #011

  1. Becca says:

    Hi, I love your version and I’ve just bought some lovely floral drapey stuff to make a version for a friend’s wedding. Hope it doesn’t take me too long!

Leave a Reply

