Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Duffle coat update

on February 23, 2016

image

My coat has sleeves and toggles….. Well actually it got these for Christmas and I have failed to move it forward since then. 
I am far too easily distracted so this coat has been a big ask for me,  hours have gone into it and I still can’t wear it.  I had to add gussets under the arms to the pattern as I had restricted movement and I’m pleased with how these turned out.
I have added a zip and placket with faux leather toggles.

image

Once the hood is attached that’s all the outside shell completed.
I stopped for a few reasons,  firstly because I started to think about shoulder pads and lining the body which isn’t part of the instructions so threw me.  Then secondly because I started to think about party dresses and they are quick to make and offer positive reward!!
My mother in law lent me books on lining and I decided to look into doctors flannel,  whatever that is, but not for the arms as they still feel pretty fitted and don’t want them too tight.
My husband has subtly suggested I should finish this coat before any other projects…. Having made two dresses this week!
I might get the lining made and then make a final decision on the interlining.
Have any of you made this coat or a similar one?  Did you interline it for warmth?

Leave a Reply

