Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Style 3686 vintage pattern

on April 23, 2016

image

image

I haven’t started this project yet but wanted to share what I had planned.
I went to my local charity shop for a quick browse and was very pleased to find a stack of sewing patterns for sale,  almost all vintage styles from the 60’s and 70’s for 50p each!!!

I remained disciplined and only bought two (as luck would have it they were all also in my size!) and this is one of them.

I am going to make view 3 which is the short version without the frills at the front and only needs 2 yards.

I went to my local hobbycraft this afternoon for a look around and found this amazing fabric below.

image

I originally picked up a roll of fabric with bright bold flowers that I thought would suit this pattern but my husband pointed out that it was quite thin and would need lining to stop it being see through….that might explain the £6 a metre price tag.

The makower print cotton above is of much better quality and I don’t think I’ll need to line it. It cost £12 a metre which is quite a bit for me to spend on fabric but I only needed two metres and thought I should start spending out a little more.  After all, I have stuck to my no RTW rule since January so must have earned it!!

I have never used a vintage pattern before so am looking forward to this new challenge.  My husband starts a new course at church every Thursday for the next 8 weeks so that evening can become my sewing night 🙂

3 responses to “Style 3686 vintage pattern

  1. Naomi says:

    1. Your husband sounds awesome. 2. Can’t wait to see the result. I love sewing with vintage patterns, once you get used to it, they’re usually pretty easy. And the internet is your friend if there’s anything that you can’t understand.

    • He is awesome…. He’s very creative too so understands my need to buy supplies!! I just had a look through and it all looks in good condition, I just need to alter the pattern slightly to allow for my curves. It would appear for my bust size that my hips and waist are several inches too big for a 60’s girl!!

Leave a Reply

