Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Loving vintage patterns

on May 2, 2016

I finished my Style 3686 pattern yesterday and I am loving all the vintage 1972 details of big collars and puff sleeves!

image

Daughter helping with photography

I found the pattern at the local charity shop for 50p in a size 12.
The bust size was correct for me but 4″ too small on hip and waist measurement.
I copied the pattern out on new pattern paper,ย  which was quick as pre cut by the last owner. I added two inches to the front bodice and back bodice to make allowance for my hips and again on the waist band on the skirt.
When I finished the dress and tried it on I realised that I needed to remove the extra width I had added in!!
This dress only took me a day to put together as a simple construction and therefore I took the time to finish it well.

image

The fabric is from hobbycraft and cost ยฃ12 a metre which is a lot for me to spend on fabric so really wanted this to have a quality finish at the end.
I decided to finish the hem and sleeves with tape which I am really happy with and will definitely continue to do with other projects.

image

Taped hem

image

Taped sleeves

Thanks for reading :mrgreen:

4 responses to “Loving vintage patterns

  1. Fab fabric and the pattern’s a great find too for 50p. Fun look! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It looks great and the fabric is such fun fabric. I would love to make a couple of summer dresses but it’s not so easy when you have pattern and fabrics in your mind but can’t find them out there ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

