Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Sunday Selfless Sewing

on October 24, 2016

The other week I visited a new sewing shop in town, Zebedees. This is by no means a new shop – it has been there for a very long time but last time i went it was to buy some felt to make a gingerbread man costume for the kids and it was very much an upholstery shop. They still have an upholstery section at the back but they have now revamped the front and filled it with beautiful fabric.

I walked around and around like some addict trying to work out what I could buy and for what purpose – I have learnt to only buy fabric with a project in mind to keep me on track…..in comes my Sew Awesome app on my mobile – all my patterns with fabric amounts and notions at the tip of my fingers.

I found some lovely red and green tweed that I almost bought to make a Simple Sew pencil skirt but as it was not machine washable i bravely walked away.

Instead I found some lovely floral cotton fabric that reminded me of Liberty print but at only £6.99 a metre a little more affordable. I matched it with some bright pink cotton fabric – so only £8 for the whole dress. i figure I need to keep making pretty little dresses while my daughter still wants them and is pleased to wear them.

I decided on pattern M7346 and my daughter decided on view D with the little ruffles on the sleeves, similar to the dress i made in April for her birthday (still unblogged but coming soon).

dress pattern

front yoke

front view

My daughter is 10 1/2 years old but she is a dainty little thing so she measures up as a size 6 and then I extended the length to a size 8. As it is mid October and the weather has suddenly dived in temperature she has taken to wearing this dress with her jeans and a chunky cardigan.

back view

I used my overlocker for the side seams and my machine for the rest of the dress. I am really pleased with the quality of the finish, inside and out. I made my own bias binding for the first time to neaten the armholes – I bought some bias binding makers years ago but they have sat in my desk unused. They worked so well, I will definitely make my own from now on.

 

 

Leave a Reply

