Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Autumn flowers

on October 25, 2016

Kate jersey dress

I love bright colours and florals, whatever time of year – I just pair with tights and big boots in the winter. I got the Kate dress pattern from Simple Sew with Love Sewing magazine that I have delivered.

I had shelved this pattern with many other dress patterns in my stash as the front image didn’t really stand out to me.

Girl Charlee had a sale a few weeks ago and on the e-mail they showed this great coral floral jersey that got me inspired, I trawled through my stash to find a suitable pattern to go with it. I found a couple of wrap dresses but dismissed these as I don’t think they suit me with being small busted and large hipped. Then i re-visited this pattern and googled images of this pattern others had made up which produced images of great dresses such as Sew sweet by Sally and Creative Little Cwtch.

pinned together

This is the dress before I finished sewing it together – i tend to pin pieces together on my model and adjust on that rather than trying on all the time as it’s a pretty good representation of my body shape.

finished

This photo still has the arms pinned on and no hem – I am afraid I haven’t managed to photograph it completely finished – maybe I’ll actually model it at some point and post as this is such a lovely dress and great fit.

I used full length arms and added cuffs, like on my coco dress. I also took heed of Creative little Cwtch’s hints and made the back ties a bit longer to make it easier to tie up.

I ordered 2 metres of fabric to make this dress and still had all this left over – I never understand how patterns come up with the fabric quantities that they state.

left overs

 

 

23 responses to “Autumn flowers

  1. Naomi says:

    Lovely dress!! I’ve found the issue with fabric amounts frustrating too – but I think they just factor in mistakes and lack of experience. Either that or they’re getting kick backs from the fabric companies!!

  2. creativelittlecwtch says:

    This is gorgeous! Sooooo much better than either of my attempts, and I love the fabric! Well done! 😀

  3. Lynsey Welch says:

    Super dress, the fabric is lovely and I bet it look great on. I never understand the fabric requirements either, it has left me with so many remnants.

  4. Nice dress! I love the fabric. I always have lots left over. I save the bigger ones to make colour blocked tops out of. It’s fun trying to mix the different scraps together to make a top.

  5. I love this fabric, it looks comfy too!

  6. […] This is my final offering to frocktober, my simple sew kate dress. Read more about this make on my blog. […]

  7. Jan Blankenship says:

    I love the shape, colors and fabric!

  8. Kerebsthecat says:

    Agree the pattern doesn’t dot itself just with the cover artwork. Your dress is gorgeous. Love that fabric.

  9. I have this pattern too. I like the look of yours! I totally agree with the fabric requirements issue; I’ve always got loads left over!

  10. sewandsnip says:

    Lovely fabric & a great shaped dress😃

Leave a Reply

