Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Top 5 Non-Sewing Highlights

on December 15, 2016

The next instalment on the top five list from crafting the rainbow is titled
“Top 5 Non-Sewing Highlights (What did you do this year besides sew? These could be big or small accomplishments – anything from “run a marathon” to “get new glasses”!)”.

This has challenged me a bit as apart from family and work,  I don’t do much else apart from sew!!

I found five things which are not in any particular order (although some are clearly bigger than others):

Dyed my hair pink!!
Finally took some better photos of my hair. I’m a little obsessed with the colour pink and it mystified me why I didn’t have pink hair when I was much younger.  Now is finally the time and I love it!
image

Bought and wrapped all the presents for christmas by the 1st December.
This is a bit of a timely one being a week from Christmas but I am feeling rather smug that I don’t have to go anywhere near the shops this weekend!

image

Bought less then 10 RTW items
I set myself a challenge in January not to buy any shop bought clothing to push myself to sew more for day to day wear. I have only bought a couple of cardigans,  some jeans, a last minute Christmas party skirt, a swimsuit, a fleecy top and some pj’s.
This clearly gives me a list of items to make in the coming year.  The fleece jumper and cardigans are covered in the sew my Style challenge and I already have a swimsuit pattern in my stash.

image

Given up sugar
This is a pretty big one…. Last January we took the plunge and the whole family gave up refined cane sugar.  The decision was based on trying to calm our overactive 8 year old son down and the impact has been significant.
His teacher reports that September 2015 he was unable to physically sit still at school but this year he was like a different child. He is now a competent reader and doing so much better in school, there is still a long way to go but his behaviour is far more manageable.  Our daughter is also calmer and less volatile and my husband is far more tolerant so overall I have a much happier household.
I don’t think I notice a lot of difference but have lost 14lb through not eating cakes and sweets!!

image

Got a second dog
Not sure if this counts as we got him a week before Christmas last year but only fostered from waggytails rescue then and decided to keep him this year! So we now have two large lurchers fighting for space on the sofa.

image

Thanks for reading x

2 responses to “Top 5 Non-Sewing Highlights

  1. Lynsey Welch says:

    Dying your hair pink is amazing! I’ve always loved the idea but never brave enough, I did have pinky highlights once though. I’ve heard amazing things about sugar free, I’m trying to cut down ad might look further into it next year, my daughter loves baking so that’s an area I’d like to try remove it from, will check out the book. Gorgeous doggie and I’ve not started wrapping yet, arghhh!

    • My hairdresser put in pink and blonde highlights and then I top it up with bleach London rose pink shampoo. I would really recommend looking into sugar free, try the I quit sugar website. We bake with coconut sugar, canderel or rice malt syrup. X

Leave a Reply

