Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Toaster #2

on January 30, 2017

image

I managed to finish my toaster #2 today just in time to share the photos on instagram tomorrow (if I can figure out how to do that…. I’m such a technophobe you would think I’m a lot older than I am!!).
I finished the first toaster #1 before Christmas which you can see here.

image

I bought this fabulous chevron knit fabric from girl charlee in the Christmas sale and kept it out of my stash for monthly stitch January challenge ‘not stashed ‘. I actually thought it was sweatshirt fabric with a loopy backing but it’s a knit. It feels super soft and slippery to work with so not sure if it was the best fabric for this make but I do love the finished article.

image

image

I’m really happy with my stripe matching,  especially as chevrons are a bit of a nightmare.

image

I overlocked the armholes and sides but had to use my sewing machine for the neckline to open the seams and secure the facing on the neck.

image

The split hem is really neat and I used a twin needle to finish the hem and sleeves.  I think this fabric was a bit thin to cope with my twin needle so made a little raised channel but I think I got away with it.
The length is better than I thought,  it’s described as being cropped but it fits me well at 5’5″ without any adjustments.

image

The only change I made was to the sleeves…. They looked like they were designed for a giant with extremely long arms.  I ended up cutting off 5cm + original 1.5cm seam allowance and they are still a good length!!!

I will definitely make another one of these, probably in scuba like my toaster #1. The pdf from sew house seven was really easy to follow and stick together and very clear instructions.

7 responses to “Toaster #2

  1. pearlredmoon says:

    fantastic….very “Emilio Pucci”

  2. I love that fabric! So many Toasters and I don’t have one yet!

  3. […] Source: Toaster #2 […]

Leave a Reply

