Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Sleeves or sleeveless??

on February 16, 2017

image

I have finally started to make the lena wrap dress that came free with love sewing magazine. The instructions are terrible and if you were a newby to sewing you would be totally lost!! I’m just going for it in my own way.

I’ve got as far as the darts and then tacked it to my mannequin for sizing.  I’m normally a 10 in simple Sew patterns and cut this pattern out a few weeks ago but when I double checked the sizing I realised a 10 would be too small. The pattern actually only shows you the finished size and no body measurements anywhere.

image

I just about managed to squeeze the pattern out of the discounted fabric from girl charlee bought in the new year sale. 

image

Now I have pinned it together I can’t decide if I should add the short sleeves or leave it without sleeves.  What do you think? Opinions would be appreciated….

19 responses to “Sleeves or sleeveless??

  1. I’m glad I’ve seen this because I’ve been wondering whether to get this pattern on Ebay so I don’t think I will now. It’s not the first time that I’ve heard the instructions are lacking from this pattern company. Though I made a tea dress by then and found it OK. I like the sleeves myself!

  2. Trisha says:

    I like the sleeves too!

  3. Fiona says:

    I like the sleeves.

  4. Lynsey Welch says:

    Super fabric, I like with sleeves too. I haven’t made a Simple Sew pattern before but when I do I’ll be prepared to be confused.

    • Fabric was from bargain lot at Girl Charlee, it’s super soft. The simple Sew patterns seem hit and miss. Some are great, although there are never very many instructions so a lot of assumption that you know how to do a technique. The patterns are all relatively simple though, hence the name, so if you have sewn a few things you should be okay. I think I’m going with short sleeves.

  5. Lesley says:

    Personally I’d go sleeves otherwise you’ll just end up wearing a cardi and ruining the lovely look of this dress (unless you have tropical weather down there that the BBC isn’t telling me about!)

  6. My go to is “no sleeves” but then I saw how lovely the mock up sleeve is and so my vote is YES SLEEVES 🙂

Leave a Reply

