Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Sew my Style Saunio

on February 23, 2017

image

The Saunio cardigan is the second offering in the sew my style capsule wardrobe challenge.
I bought some fabric for this design back in January but didn’t get round to looking at this pattern until this week. I actually bought some scuba with peach lace overlay to make this cardigan but then looked at my original fabric and decided to try it with that first.

image

I am so pleased with this design and the fabric is super soft to the touch and much nicer than I remember.
The sewing was completed in about 1 1/2 hours, the paper pattern on the other hand took me a head scratching 1 1/2 hours on its own!!!

image

This was a pdf pattern which meant that it did have the seam allowance included (1cm instead of 1.5cm) but to save paper on the printer they overlap all the pieces. Once you stick it together you then still have to trace each piece and cut out again!! Grrrr! And some of the overlaps made it a challenge for my head to trace after a long day at work and trying to get kids into bed!!

image

Any who, once I got going this was a dream to sew up. Just look at that pattern matching on the side and arm (if you can even spot them!)

image

I interfaced the facing and stitched it from the outside on the furthest edge to stop it flapping open and looks really tidy from the outside.
I will definitely make another one of these but not sure my scuba will work so need to think of another pattern to use that on.
I made this in size small which is great for this light knit fabric but would go up a size in anything thicker. This is meant to be oversized and it’s not on this version but I am happy with that as looks smarter for work.

6 responses to “Sew my Style Saunio

  1. That’s a perfect print for a cardigan. I love it!

  2. Lynsey Welch says:

    This looks great and I love something that looks smart/casual, great for the office and with jeans. You pattern matching is awesome.

Leave a Reply

