Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

World Book Day Totoro

on February 27, 2017

image

I thought I got away with world book day this year, my son announced that he was going as a dinosaur from Tyrannosaurus drip. He has a crocodile costume in his wardrobe and was happy to wear this and my daughter was convinced that her middle school wouldn’t ‘do dress up’.

image

Then we got an email on Friday last week stating that she would be joining in and immediately asked to go as Totoro.
Our daughter is obsessed with studio ghibli My Neighbour Totoro. At Christmas we bought her Totoro pens, Totoro hat, Totoro pencil case etc!!
It feels like a bit of a cheat as it’s a film rather than a book but she stands by the fact that a film that is almost 30 years old must have some accompanying books!!

image

The hat and scarf was a Christmas present so I only had to sort the top and trousers….off to primark we went ( don’t judge me!!!! They had posted up directing you to look at ethical primark, but £2 for a pair of leggings does feel wrong!).
In case you don’t know who or what Totoro is, here’s a photo:

image

There are lots of Totoro sweatshirts for sale so easy to get an idea on how to make one (mainly in adult sizes strangely!).

image

I started by making a template for the white belly.

image

Checked it looked big enough.

image

Cut it out of white fleece on the fold to ensure they were the same size.

image

Then I cut out seven little v shaped pieces out of grey fleece, splitting one between the two semi circles.

image

I pinned these on and sewed around the edges on my machine for speed.

image

Before sewing the semi circles on the front I pinned the pockets out of the way with safety pins so I didn’t catch them.

image

Ta da finished!!

image

With her little pencil case.

6 responses to “World Book Day Totoro

  1. Lynsey Welch says:

    Great adaption, she looks fantastic! I’m very glad mine have all gone through the book day stage, some were fab others were really awful (night before as forgot).

  2. Natasha says:

    Oh man. Definitely think I am going to need a Totoro sweater! Great job!

  3. kathryn says:

    I just discovered your blog and am enjoying having a read through your posts. I love this costume! Your daughter is right by the way My Neighbour Totoro does have book versions – a manga comic and a picture book. My son also loves Totoro (he’s 3 1/2) and I made him, and some friend’s children, Totoro soft toys out of felt based on a tutorial online. If he still likes Totoro by Halloween I’d love to have a go at making him a costume!

Leave a Reply

