Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Grainline Morris blazer

on May 10, 2017

image

I love this jacket so much!! I bought this pattern when the monthly stitch had a challenge for sewing something that was released a long time ago and I hadn’t made yet. I ended up entering the grainline moss skirt as that was another pattern I missed the boat on a few years ago.
Grainline patterns are so well drafted and have such great details and the Morris does not disappoint.

image

I made this in a grey stretch fabric from Minerva fabric in their sale. It’s boucle effect on the outside and black smooth jersey on the inside and works so well for a jacket.
I put off sewing this for a couple of weeks thinking I should make a toile before cutting into my lovely fabric,Β  but for those of you who follow me will know…..I never toile anything. Not even my wool duffle coat!!
When I finally got on with this, it was made in about 3-4 hours and was a perfect fit.

image

I think I need some more white tops to go underneath or maybe a black t shirt (I don’t own a lot of black clothes and certainly no black tops!).

image

image

image

7 responses to “Grainline Morris blazer

  1. bellecitadel says:

    It looks fabulous on you! It has been on my to-do list forever too and I may go back and pull it out again now spring is here. πŸ˜„

  2. looks great. I’ve seen quite a few people make this and I think I should have a go. I definitely need some jackets like this that I’ve made!

  3. mumokio says:

    That’s a really nice shape on you. Looks like great fabric choice.

  4. Lynsey_makes says:

    It looks fab, a great piece that can be worn over so much, I really need something like this. Our weather usually means we need a jacket/blazer.

Leave a Reply

