Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Ultimate black skinny jeans and a Mimi blouse

on May 22, 2017


I actually made jeans!! I blogged about these Trousers here when they were on my disaster list, but I persevered and now I love them. 


The zip got replaced and although the lapped part of the zip doesn’t sit as flat as I would like, it doesn’t bother me as I am not likely to wear cropped tops any more!


Obligatory bum shot to evidence the fit I managed to achieve. I think I would put the pockets on a little lower next time but they are still deep enough to put my mobile in when necessary.

The fabric is a black stretch denim from fabricland. It seems pretty good and the knees don’t bag out even after a few wears but there are signs of tiny elastic threads showing against the black which is frustrating. I also failed to note any of my adjustments as I was pinning and sewing as I went so not sure how I can replicate these ๐Ÿ™


This shirt is the mimi blouse from Tilly and the buttons book. I really like the look of this top with the little collar and riches back detail. However, I think I picked the wrong fabric.

This red polka dot cotton is a bit to stiff and doesn’t drape well so I feel the collar sits off my chest too much. I might make another in a more viscose fabric as I keep seeing lots of lovely versions and a bit disappointed with this one. 

4 responses to “Ultimate black skinny jeans and a Mimi blouse

  1. Lynsey_makes says:

    Your ultimate jeans look amazing!! Such a great fit and look fab with your Mimi. Perfect outfit ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Great job on the jeans! I love the colour of the top.

Leave a Reply

