Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Welcome to my world of craft!

Florence dress

on June 22, 2017

Firstly I wanted to apologise for the lack of posts on my blog….. I found instagram and got a bit hooked on there. Plus felt that I was sharing with less effort / words but I will try harder to do both ( @craftysewandsewindorset )


Anyway, onto my blog post. This is the Florence dress from sew over it, released early via simply sewing magazine. I bought this fabric from Ikea ages ago for £12 for 3 meters pre cut and thought it would be perfect for this maxi dress even if the pattern requires fabric with drape!


The magazine planned this to be a slow sewing challenge as the patterns were in two issues but I just don’t sew like that. Therefore I waited until 2 days before the second issue before I started sewing!


I decided to omit the sleeves, mainly due to the 30 degree heat wave Britain had (note had sadly!!) been experiencing. I made my own bias binding to edge the sleeves using my little bias binding tools.

I originally decided to add poppers as I had bought a new prym tool for this very job, however tiredness and cider made this harder than it sounded!

I eventually gave up after several back to front connections and punching a hole in my dress and added buttons!

This cotton worked so well in the heat so will definitely become a holiday favourite. 

10 responses to “Florence dress

  1. Jo Laycock says:

    Oh it’s lovely – that fabric’s so cool! I bought the pdf version of this the other day and can’t wait to give it a go myself!

  2. I really do love it. I’m in Leeds this weekend for Sew Up North but I reallllly want to finish mine. I can’t believe the fabric is from Ikea too! I did the same as you with waiting until the next mag neared!

  3. Trisha says:

    Lovely dress, I have downloaded the pattern, and added it to my ever growing list of sewing plans!

  4. Congratulations on your dress! Thank you for entering it into #sewtogetherforsummer – enjoy your gift!!! Xx

Leave a Reply

